

Modelling and Simulation Society of Australia and New Zealand

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING - MINUTES

(5.00pm, Tuesday 13 December 2022)

Stellaria room in the Synergy Building, CSIRO Black Mountain and online

Attendees: Sondoss Elsawah (Chair), Susan Cuddy, Tony Jakeman, Barry Croke, David Marlow, Conrad Wasko, Firouzeh Taghikhah, Leorey Marquez, Min Chen, Willem Vervoort, Andrew Western, Stefan Reis, Simon Dunstall, Amir Gandomi. Karen Mobbs

1 Apologies

David Post, Val Snow, Georgy Sofronov

2 Minutes of previous meeting

Motion:

"that the minutes of the 2021 Annual General Meeting held on 7 December 2021 be accepted as a true and correct record."

Moved: Tony Jakeman; Seconded: Willem Vervoort ACCEPTED

3 President's report

- David Post is currently representing MSSANZ at the Winter Simulation Society Conference in Singapore
- He extends his thanks to the Conveners, Jai Vaze, Chris Chilcott and Lindsay Hutley, as well as to the Organising Committee for MODSIM2023.
- David also thanks the Awards Committee, Val Snow, Francis Chiew, Chia-Lin Chang, Sondoss Elsawah, Tony Jakeman and Tony Weber for their excellent job in assessing our latest round of Society Fellows
- And finally, thanks to those running the office and members of the Executive, being Karen Mobbs, Susan Cuddy, Barry Croke, Sondoss Elsawah, and Willem Vervoort. Our Management Committee is also far more involved in MSSANZ matters than in previous years, and we meet every 3 months to keep the Society running.

4 Treasurer's report

- The Treasurer Barry Croke gave a report
- Noted that financial year statements do not line up well with MODSIMs, need to present separate final statement of expenses and income for each MODSIM; possibly at time other than at AGM
- Need to consider how to manage reporting obligations in 2023 given that MODSIM will be held in July

The 2021/22 financial year audited statements presented by the Treasurer, Barry Croke

Motion

"that the 2021/22 financial year statement, as tabled at the 2022 AGM, be accepted."

Moved: Susan Cuddy; Seconded: Willem Vervoort

ACCEPTED

5 Tabling of 2021 Student awards

BEST PRESENTATION

Winners

- Danielle Udy, University of Tasmania
 How does salty snowfall in Antarctica help us understand Australian hydroclimate risk?
- Hamid Yahyaei, Macquarie University
 The impacts of the El Niño-Southern Oscillation on global food security: An implied volatility approach
- Johan Visser, University of New South Wales Sydney
 No 'hook' structures in extreme precipitation-temperature scaling

Commendations

Philippa Higgins, University of New South Wales Sydney; Jacob Simpson, University of New South Wales Canberra;
 Shuang Liu, University of New South Wales Sydney; Pengcheng Zhao, The University of Melbourne; Kate Coelli,
 The University of Sydney; Marcela Silva, Monash University; Shirui Hao, The University of Melbourne

6 Tabling of 2022 MSSANZ Fellows Awards

For 'unselfish dedication to promoting the aims of the Society, and for significant contributions to modelling and simulation'

- Professor Lucy Marshall, Macquarie University, Australia
- Professor Brett Bryan, Deakin University, Australia
- Dr David Marlow, Defence Science and Technology Group, Australia
- Dr Simon Dunstall, CSIRO, Australia
- A/Prof Fiona Johnson, University of New South Wales Sydney, Australia

The Awards Committee noted the exceptional calibre of all nominees this year and encouraged those who were not successful in this round. They also noted thanked all the members who took the time to nominate their colleagues.

7 Election of Office Bearers and Awards Committee

Motion:

"that the current members of the Committee serve until the 2023 AGM"

Moved: Tony Jakeman; Seconded: David Marlow ACCEPTED

The current Committee is:

- President David Post
- Vice-President Sondoss Elsawah
- Association Secretary Susan Cuddy
- Treasurer Barry Croke
- Committee Secretary Willem Vervoort
- (Normal) Committee members Min Chen, Amir Gandomi, David Marlow, Leorey Marquez, Jo Owens, Stefan Reis, Nikita Slinko, Val Snow, Georgy Sofronov, Tony Weber, Jai Vaze

Current members of the Awards Committee are Society Fellows – Val Snow (chair), Francis Chiew, Chia-Lin Chang, Sondoss Elsawah, Tony Jakeman, Tony Weber.

Motion:

"that the current Awards Committee serve until the 2023 AGM"

Moved: Leorey Marquez; Seconded: Susan Cuddy ACCEPTED

8 MODSIM 2023 update

Report from Susan Cuddy

- Record number of sessions (98)
- Thank you to Stream Leaders and Session Organisers
- No submissions yet, expect them to start coming in next year
- Workshops on offer for Friday, 6 already on website
- Consider how to improve 'cross-pollination' across streams in future MODSIMs; might be good to have more general sessions focusing on modelling practice and techniques

9 MODSIM 2025 update

The Executive will shortly be deciding on a venue for MODSIM2025. We have had active discussions with Convention Centres in Gold Coast, Brisbane, Adelaide, Melbourne and Christchurch. Several are offering financial incentives. If you are interested in convening the congress in one of these locations, or would like to put in a bid for your home town, please let us know at office@mssanz.org.au. As usual, the venue will be announced at MODSIM2023

10 General business

10.1 Intent to prepare Indigenous statement for MSSANZ

- Susan Cuddy will be leading the work on this
- Note that MSSANZ already has a diversity and inclusion statement on the MSSANZ website
- Here is an opportunity for MSSANZ to be a leader in the area of reconciliation, highly relevant in Australia at the moment
- The statement will include Australia and New Zealand
- Anyone who is interested in contributing to development of such a statement is welcome and should contact Susan

10.2 Update on Water Quality SIG activities

- The Water Quality Special Interest Group has run two workshop sessions on improving water quality modelling practice
- Looking at publishing a paper from the outcomes of that workshop
- Planning a Water quality modelling forum at MODSIM2023
- No formal policy yet, but the principles of running a MSSANZ SIG will come from this example
- Members of MSSANZ are welcome to propose further SIGs, note they do not have to last forever, they may serve a temporary purpose

10.3 Other

- Willem noted that with the good financial position of the Society, it would be good to look at how MSSANZ can strengthen connections with other societies for example by running a joint workshop
- David Marlow and Simon Dunstall noted the positive benefits for DORS and ASOR from being involved with MODSIMs; this had even flowed through to greater attendance at their own meetings in MODSIM off years.
- However, greater links with other societies do not need to be restricted to just MODSIMs, other opportunities should be considered.

Meeting closed 5:45pm

Authorised by Susan Cuddy MSSANZ Committee Secretary office@mssanz.org.au